December 10, 2004

  • One thing the Amish have right.  They don’t concern themselves with the things of the world.  Which is why I don’t listen to Christian Contemporary Music.  “Christian” Rap is still Rap which is WORLDLY; Christian “punk” is still punk which is WORLDLY, Christian “pop” is still pop … Get where I’m going here?  We went into one of those apostate Christian book stores the other day looking for Good new testemants for door knocking.  I don’t know what they had on the TV, but a supposed Christian singer who looked like she’d get along fine with Madonna and Britney.


    I do not watch worldly movies.  (or TV)  and what movies and TV aren’t worldly?  I don’t need to see people doing things that don’t glorify God, it greives the spirit.


    I don’t drink or dance, (i’m a white girl with no rhythym anyway) so thats fine. 


    I want Jesus to be pleased with me.


    2 Corinthians  6:14: Be ye not unequally yoked together with unbelievers: for what fellowship hath righteousness with unrighteousness? and what communion hath light with darkness? 15: And what concord hath Christ with Belial? or what part hath he that believeth with an infidel? 16: And what agreement hath the temple of God with idols? for ye are the temple of the living God; as God hath said, I will dwell in them, and walk in them; and I will be their God, and they shall be my people. 17: Wherefore come out from among them, and be ye separate, saith the Lord, and touch not the unclean thing; and I will receive you, 18: And will be a Father unto you, and ye shall be my sons and daughters, saith the Lord Almighty.


    James 4:4: Ye adulterers and adulteresses, know ye not that the friendship of the world is enmity with God? whosoever therefore will be a friend of the world is the enemy of God.


     


    Titus 2:12 Teaching us that, denying ungodliness and worldly lusts, we should live soberly, righteously, and godly, in this present world;


     


    I Corinthians 2:12 Now we have received, not the spirit of the world, but the spirit which is of God; that we might know the things that are freely given to us of God.

Comments (4)

  • I fully agree with your ideas and decision.  My only concern is if you use this as an extreme.  You can cut certain musicians, genras, and movies or tv programs out of your life.  But if you use the extreme, that means you do not watch any tv, you do not listen to any music, you dress as simply as possible, not buying cute purses, the latest fashion in shoes, shirts, you do not worry about your body… etc.  I agree with what you say…. but isnt music in the church gospel?  Arent some of the hymns sung by other church go-ers written by Steven Curtis Chapman or Jars of Clay?  There is influence from everyone and everywhere.  God knows that.  He doesnt want us to cut off our arms if the hand it stuck in a jar.  How can we relate to those we are trying to save.  We are to be wise of the good and the evil and seperate ourselves FROM GETTING INVOLVED IN IT.  For example.  There is a 15 year old kid on xanga completly into satanism.  I read up on it so I could get an understanding what he was interested in and what was going on.  Then I could approach him and say “hey, i know whats up”…. it worked a lot better not being blind.  Does that make me a sinner for reading ABOUT satanism?  I didnt get involved, im not worshiping, but I can identify it a lot better now.  Just my opinion.

  • I have a question then for you….why listen to Christian music at all…because ‘wordly’ people sing it?? Just a question, not an attack!
    I just have issues with that because my church used to have the Cedar Crest Cafe and have many different styles of Christian bands play live every 6 weeks and it was an incredibly awesome outreach to the community. Many teens got to hear the gospel without it being shoved down their throat and many teens became Christians or strengthened their Christianity because of those cafes. The cafes were later shut down by elders of the church who felt it was too worldly….
    Seriously, not an attack….just a question…..

  • uhm…..is your computer not wordly? the internet? and..what does dancing have to do w/anything?
    im sure Jesus is very pleased with your trying so hard to follow Him, but,,,,i dont follow some of your logic.

  • Thanks so much for the post, very helpful info. 4 web check. Pretty effective information, lots of thanks for the article. web web 7. I found a lot of effective data above! 8 7 site. Wow, there is really much useful data here!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories